A Paleo Easter

Hubs and I had our first holiday home in I don’t even know how long. I decided this was the perfect opportunity to invite another couple over and have my first Paleo holiday!

Two dear friends of our and their 18 month old munchkin came over for Easter dinner. Neither of them are Paleo, but they are so easy going I know they would roll with whatever we cooked up. They offered to bring something so I suggested a salad and a side dish. Surprisingly, they ended up fitting nicely with our Paleo (semi-Primal) theme!

My work travel schedule and gym commitments left me spread pretty thin over the weekend, so I forced myself to go the easy route and not try anything overly complicated and time consuming. We were all very pleased with the results! Menu below…

First Course

  • Field Greens salad with apple, avocado, dried cherries, blue cheese, sunflower seeds and a mandarin dressing (SOOO GOOD!)
  • Bacon wrapped dates stuffed with blue cheese

Main Course

Dessert

Roasted Lemon & Rosemary Chicken

I think everyone needs a failsafe roasted chicken recipe. I don’t measure anything when I make this, so its a little different everytime. Just eyeball it.

  • Organic whole chicken (I try and buy free range)
  • dried rosemary
  • lemon pepper seasoning (Trader Joe’s has a great grinder)
  • Himilayan sea salt
  • garlic (either puree or chopped cloves)
  • grass fed butter, room temp (2-4TBS)
  • white wine (1/2C)
  • lemon juice and/or lemon slices
  1. Prep chicken by removing gizzards and neck if still attached. Give to cats so they leave you alone while you cook.
  2. Place chicken in bowl and rub butter over skin. Then either rub garlic puree on skin as well or place cloves and lemon under skin and in cavity.
  3. Pour wine and lemon juice (if not using lemons) over bird.
  4. Add seasonings to bird, make sure it gets just about everywhere.
  5. Cover with plastic wrap and stick in fridge 4 hours minimum (I typically do overnight)
  6. Preheat oven to 375. Take bird out of fridge.
  7. Cook uncovered in a roasting pan for 60 minutes. This is not exact, but if you have a thermometer, make sure it hits 165.
  8. Carve and enjoy! I also save the carcass for bone broth. Just toss it in a ziplock and into the freezer it goes until you need it.

20130401-102550.jpg

This entry was posted in Entertaining, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

